More argh

The wife’s three-month-old hard drive just shit itself.  Dead as a post.  Neither of our systems will see it, and it’s been working perfectly fine up until now.  And we don’t have the money to replace it.

YOU CAN STOP TEABAGGING US ANYTIME NOW GOD.

3 Responses to “More argh”

  1. Thomas Says:

    Arrrgh, dude. That really sucks.

    SATA or IDE? If it’s the latter, the odds are really, really good I have one I’m not using.

  2. Lewis Says:

    It’s a Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB SATA. The motherboards we have do also have an IDE port (I made sure of that). The drive’s under warranty with Seagate, so we should be able to pack it up and send it back…but who knows how long it’ll take for a replacement.

    The frustrating part (in addition to the timing of the failure) is that the thing’s been working 100% perfectly since I built her computer three months ago, no noise, no glitches, no nothing. Then late this morning, she brings it up out of hibernate and gets “SYSTEM BOOT ERROR”. I go into the BIOS and the drive’s gonzo. Not there. I swap it over to my machine, same thing, it doesn’t exist. But I can hear it spin up and down so I know it’s getting power.

    My identical drive actually recovered from some sort of weirdo lockup four days after I got the box put together, so maybe hers has some of the same miraculous faith-healing powers. But it ain’t looking good.

  3. Lewis Says:

    OK, an update. I have an old 100 GB IDE drive that’s in my computer–still with a boot installation of Windows XP on it (it’s my old computer’s boot drive). So the plan is to try and somehow get that XP hard drive to sortakinda work on Kitty’s machine, which will limp us along until I can get the drive fixed under warranty. That’s my evil genius plan, anyway, we’ll see if it’ll fly.


Leave a Reply

